Occupational Medicine

The ICOH Scientific Committee on Occupational Medicine (SCOM) is one of the oldest scientific committees in ICOH. Currently, there are more than 120 members from nearly 45 countries.
Occupational Medicine is a branch of clinical medicine that focuses on the identification and management of health risks that people may face in the workplace. Occupational Medicine encompasses prevention, evaluation, diagnosis, treatment, reporting, notification, rehabilitation and compensation of any health issues that arise from workplace. The knowledge of local laws and regulations related to workplace safety and health are also part of Occupational Medicine.
The understanding of Occupational Medicine is based on the “3 Ws” (Worker, Work, Workplace) and the interrelationship between them.

General Objectives of Occupational Medicine (based on WHO)
The maintenance and promotion of workers' health and working capacity;
The improvement of working conditions and the working environment to become conducive to safety and health;
The development of work organization and working cultures that should reflect essential value systems adopted by the undertaking concerned, and include effective managerial systems, personnel policy, principles for participation, and voluntary quality-related management practices to improve occupational safety and health.

Steering Committee
Chairman: Dr Gogillan Sevaratnam, Malaysia
Secretary: Dr Ade Mutiara, Indonesia
Dr Moazzam Ali Zaidi, New Zealand
Dr Loubna Tahri, Morocco
Dr Tongai Mukwewa, Zimbabwe
Dr Vishnumohan Janardhanam, India
Dr Miriaam Esther Panduro Vasquez, Peru
Dr Brett Shannon, Australia

Officers for Triennium 2024-2027



Occupational Health Unit
Kuala Lumpur Hospital

Phone: 0060163747160

Email: gogillan@gmail.com

Gedung Wisma Mulia,
JL Gatot Subroto No 42
Jakarta DKI JKT 12820

Phone: +62 081281699233

Email: amutiara302@gmail.com